YrmaCloath Media

How Long Does Novocaine Last? The Usual Answer, Checked Against the Labels

Numbness from a dental injection usually wears off two and a half to three and a half hours after the shot. The FDA-approved label for 2% lidocaine with epinephrine 1:100,000, the cartridge most American dentists reach for, gives about 2½ hours of soft-tissue numbness after an upper-jaw infiltration and 3 to 3½ hours after a lower-jaw nerve block. The tooth itself stops being numb far earlier: at least 60 minutes for an infiltration, at least 90 for a block. And nobody has injected you with actual Novocaine in about thirty years. The name outlived the drug.

Nobody has handed you Novocaine since the 1990s

Novocaine is a brand name for procaine, the first synthetic injectable local anesthetic to reach dentistry and an ester rather than an amide. It is no longer sold in dental cartridges in North America. The last procaine product here paired 2% procaine with 0.4% propoxycaine and a vasoconstrictor; published accounts date its withdrawal to either 1989 or 1996, and I cannot reconcile the two. Either date puts it three decades back.

The pharmacology explains why "how long does the drug stay in me" is the wrong question. Procaine is dismantled in the bloodstream itself, by plasma pseudocholinesterase, into para-aminobenzoic acid and diethylaminoethanol. Reported elimination half-lives run from under a minute in vitro to about 7.7 minutes in one pharmacokinetic measurement, with dental texts using roughly 6 minutes. Lidocaine, the amide that replaced it, carries a labeled elimination half-life of 1.5 to 2.0 hours after intravenous bolus, per the FDA-approved Xylocaine Dental labeling. Neither figure tells you when your lip comes back.

Half-life describes how fast a drug clears your blood. Numbness ends when the drug leaves the nerve where it was deposited, and local blood flow governs that. A drug can vanish from circulation in minutes and still hold a nerve for hours, which is why the vasoconstrictor in the cartridge matters more to your afternoon than the anesthetic does.

That para-aminobenzoic acid is also why esters earned the allergy reputation people repeat as "I'm allergic to Novocaine." One published estimate puts such reactions at roughly one per 500,000 injections, and the drug they meant is not the drug you are getting.

What the labels actually say about duration

Every figure below comes from the FDA-approved prescribing information for Xylocaine Dental with epinephrine, Septocaine and Carbocaine, except the two cells marked otherwise.

| Cartridge | Drug per 1.7 mL cartridge | Onset | Working (pulpal) anesthesia | Soft-tissue numbness | |---|---|---|---|---| | 2% lidocaine + epinephrine 1:100,000, infiltration | 34 mg | under 2 minutes | at least 60 minutes | about 2½ hours | | 2% lidocaine + epinephrine 1:100,000, nerve block | 34 mg | 2 to 4 minutes | at least 90 minutes | 3 to 3½ hours | | 4% articaine + epinephrine 1:100,000 | 68 mg | 1 to 6 minutes | about 1 hour of complete anesthesia | not on the label; literature reports 3 to 6 hours | | 3% mepivacaine, no vasoconstrictor | 51 mg | 30 to 120 seconds upper jaw, 1 to 4 minutes lower | 20 minutes upper jaw, 40 minutes lower | not on the label; literature reports 2 to 3 hours | | 2% mepivacaine + levonordefrin 1:20,000 | 34 mg | not stated | 1 to 2½ hours upper jaw, 2½ to 5½ hours lower | not stated separately |

Those two lidocaine rows are why I stopped quoting a single number. On the triage line I worked from a laminated card with two entries under lidocaine, infiltration and block, and one afternoon I read the first entry to a woman who had had a lower molar filled. I told her two and a half hours. She called back at hour four certain something had gone wrong, and I had to walk back a number I had given her in a confident voice. It went into my supervisor's review file and it belonged there. The question I skipped takes four seconds: upper jaw or lower, and was it one shot beside the tooth or one toward the back of your jaw?

When numbness that hasn't worn off becomes a phone call

Persistent numbness has a clinical name, paresthesia: altered sensation lasting beyond the expected duration of the anesthetic. At eight hours you are past the top of every labeled window in the table above, including the longest. Complete numbness at that point is worth reporting the same day.

Where it happens is predictable. Garisto and colleagues reviewed 248 paresthesia reports filed with the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System between November 1997 and August 2008, published in the Journal of the American Dental Association in 2010. Mandibular nerve blocks accounted for 94.5%, and the lingual nerve was involved in 89.0%. The lingual nerve supplies the tongue, which is why tongue numbness dominates those reports.

Recovery is the reassuring half. Reported spontaneous complete recovery runs 85% to 94% within eight weeks, and referral to an oral and maxillofacial surgeon is the standard step for symptoms still present at six to eight weeks.

Until early 2024 I wrote the patient version the lazy way: if it's still numb in the morning, call the office. I stopped. The referral clock runs from an injection somebody has to have written down. Waiting overnight changes nothing about the nerve and changes a great deal about whether the visit gets logged while the assistant who set up the tray still remembers it. The instruction now is same day, before the office closes.

If you are past the window, the call is short:

  1. Check the clock against the labeled window for the anesthetic you were given.
  2. Call the office that placed the injection, same day, before it closes.
  3. Report the agent, the concentration, block or infiltration, the cartridge count, and how many hours with no sensation.
  4. Ask for the call and the date to go in your chart.

Numbness alone is a phone call. Numbness with swelling that keeps growing, trouble breathing or swallowing, or hives is a different category and belongs to 911 or an emergency department, not to a callback list.

Lidocaine or articaine: the comparison the labels won't make for you

The two agents that cover most American dental appointments differ in more than duration. Lidocaine cartridges are 2%, delivering 34 mg per 1.7 mL. Articaine cartridges are 4%, delivering 68 mg. Same volume, twice the milligrams.

Articaine is the odd amide: it carries an ester group as well. The Septocaine label states it is rapidly metabolized by plasma carboxyesterase to inactive articainic acid, so roughly 90% clears in the bloodstream rather than the liver. That same label's pharmacokinetics section gives its elimination half-life as about 1.8 hours, well above the 20 to 27 minutes in the pharmacokinetic literature, including the 1997 review in Clinical Pharmacokinetics. I flag the gap rather than pick the number I like.

What reaches you is simpler. Articaine's soft-tissue duration is reported in dental literature at 3 to 6 hours against lidocaine's labeled 2½ to 3½. If your lip is still dead at hour four and the office used articaine, you are inside the reported range for that drug and outside the range for the other one. Same appointment, same procedure, different answer.

The 4% concentration carries a separate signal. In the Garisto analysis, reports involving 4% prilocaine ran 7.3 times higher and 4% articaine 3.6 times higher than expected from American sales volume. That database records voluntary reports, so it can show a disproportion and cannot establish an incidence rate. The authors' conclusion was still specific: for mandibular blocks, use a concentration below 4%.

I have never injected anyone and I have never read a dental chart. I cannot tell you which of these was in your cartridge, and neither can anyone who has not seen your record. What I can vouch for is what the approved labels say, and which sentence gets the answer out of a front desk in under a minute: which anesthetic, what concentration, block or infiltration, how many cartridges.

The epinephrine decides more than the anesthetic does

Epinephrine at 1:100,000 means 0.01 mg per milliliter, which works out to 0.017 mg in a 1.7 mL cartridge. At 1:200,000 it is 0.005 mg per milliliter, or 0.0085 mg per cartridge. The Septocaine label describes the purpose directly: epinephrine slows absorption into the general circulation and prolongs maintenance of active tissue levels.

The size of that effect is visible inside one product family. Carbocaine 3% with no vasoconstrictor gives 20 minutes of operating anesthesia in the upper jaw and 40 in the lower. Carbocaine 2% with levonordefrin 1:20,000 gives 1 to 2½ hours upper and 2½ to 5½ hours lower. Same molecule, same manufacturer, a fivefold to sevenfold difference produced by what was added alongside it.

That is the honest answer to how you make the dentist numbing go away faster: the lever lives in cartridge selection, and it is a question for before the appointment rather than after.

Four injections don't mean four times the numbness

Four cartridges of 2% lidocaine with epinephrine deliver 136 mg of lidocaine and 0.068 mg of epinephrine. The adult ceiling in the label is below 500 mg total, not exceeding 7 mg per kilogram, which for a 150-pound adult calculates to 480 mg. Four cartridges is roughly a quarter of that. Four cartridges of 4% articaine deliver 272 mg against the same 7 mg/kg ceiling, still under it.

Duration does not multiply with the count. It is set by the agent, the vasoconstrictor and whether the needle reached a nerve trunk or infiltrated tissue near a tooth. Four cartridges spread across four quadrants numb four regions for roughly the same span each. Four into a single field stretch the window somewhat, since the label notes that onset and duration are proportional to dosage, but nowhere near fourfold.

One wrinkle affects the milligram math. American manufacturers label cartridges 1.7 mL while most dental literature still uses 1.8 mL. The relabeling came at articaine's approval in 2000, when the FDA asked whether every machine-filled cartridge could be guaranteed to hold 1.8 mL; it could not, and 1.7 could. ISO 11499:2014 lists nominal capacities of 1.0, 1.7, 1.8 and 2.2 mL, and the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry prints both conventions, listing 2% lidocaine at 34 or 36 mg per cartridge and 4% articaine at 68 or 72 mg.

How often "a few hours" is actually right

Across every formulation licensed for American dental use, the labeled or reported soft-tissue window spans roughly two hours to five and a half. "A few hours" sits inside that band almost everywhere. For the commonest appointment in the country, a single upper-jaw infiltration of 2% lidocaine with epinephrine for a filling, the label says about 2½ hours and the casual answer is right.

It breaks in three identifiable places. Lower-jaw nerve blocks push the labeled figure to 3 to 3½ hours with lidocaine. Articaine's reported soft-tissue range reaches 6. Mepivacaine 2% with levonordefrin reaches 5½ in the lower jaw.

The strongest case against publishing these ranges is that they manufacture clock-watchers. A patient told "up to three and a half hours" checks at three hours and twenty minutes and starts composing a worry. The dentist saying "a few hours" is absorbing variation and sparing an anxious person from timing their own lip, and I grant that this works for most patients most of the time. It fails at the boundary. Someone at hour five with no number to check against has nothing to reason with, and those were the calls that reached me.

What to avoid while your mouth is numb

You cannot feel damage while it happens. In a prospective study of 320 children published in Pediatric Dentistry in 2000, College and colleagues found soft-tissue trauma after mandibular block anesthesia in 18% of children under four, 16% aged four to seven, 13% aged eight to eleven, and 7% at twelve and over. Lips took most of it, and the resulting ulcers look alarming enough that some have been treated as bacterial infections.

That 7% is the floor of the study, not zero. Until sensation returns, skip chewing on the numb side, skip hot food and drinks, and do not test the numbness with your teeth. After an extraction the post-operative sheet is a separate document; follow both.

There is a drug that ends it early

OraVerse, phentolamine mesylate, is FDA-approved to reverse soft-tissue anesthesia and the functional deficits that come with it. It is a second injection, 0.4 mg in a 1.7 mL cartridge. In the pivotal trials it cut the median time to normal lower-lip sensation from 155 minutes to 70, and the upper lip from 133 to 50. Its use has not been established in children under three years or under 15 kg.

It has to be asked for before you leave the chair, which is the practical catch. By the time you are home reading about a numb mouth after the dentist, the window has closed.

Questions patients ask at the front desk

How long does numbness last after four dental injections?

Roughly as long as after one. Four cartridges of 2% lidocaine deliver 136 mg, about a quarter of the 500 mg adult ceiling in the FDA label, and duration is set by the agent, the vasoconstrictor and the injection site rather than the count. Expect the same 2½ to 3½ hours.

What should I avoid after dental local anesthesia?

Chewing on the numb side, hot drinks and hot food, and testing the numbness by biting it. Without pain feedback you can burn or bite tissue and not know for hours. Skip alcohol and gum until sensation is fully back, and keep children under close watch.

How long does numbness last after a dentist visit?

Two and a half to three and a half hours for the usual cartridge, 2% lidocaine with epinephrine 1:100,000. Upper-jaw injections near the tooth run about 2½ hours of soft-tissue numbness per the FDA label; lower-jaw nerve blocks run 3 to 3½ hours.

How can I avoid injury while my mouth is numb?

Eat nothing that needs chewing until sensation returns, keep drinks cool, and do not test the numb area with your teeth. In a prospective study of 320 children, 18% of those under four bit themselves after a lower-jaw block. Adults are not immune; the same study found 7% at age twelve and over.

When does numbness fade after a tooth extraction?

On the same schedule as any other procedure using the same cartridge, because the anesthetic sets the timing rather than the surgery. A lower molar extraction usually involves a nerve block, so expect 3 to 3½ hours of soft-tissue numbness with lidocaine, longer if articaine was used.

How long does dental numbing last for a filling?

About 2½ hours of soft-tissue numbness for an upper-jaw filling and 3 to 3½ hours for a lower-jaw one, per the FDA label for 2% lidocaine with epinephrine. The tooth itself stops being numb sooner, at 60 to 90 minutes on the same label, which is why the lip outlasts the appointment.

YrmaCloath Media
Miklos Donovan
AboutContactPrivacy Policy
© YrmaCloath Media